Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Tenth Anniversary Cooling Awards!

The Cooling Industry Awards celebrates its tenth anniversary this year, and to celebrate we are launching new categories to reflect the changing face of the industry

It is hard to believe that the Cooling Awards has been recognising the best achievements in the refrigeration and air conditioning sector now for ten years.

When the Awards launched back in 2004, the landscape was quite different: F-Gas regulations were only a distant speck on the horizon and natural refrigeration was a specialist sector largely thought to remain confined to industrial applications.

The idea behind a set of Awards celebrating the industry’s environmental achievements was to give refrigeration and air conditioning some accolades it could be proud of – the industry had weathered quite a lot of criticism over CFCs and it was felt that the progress that was being made was certainly worthy of being celebrated to the ‘outside world’.

The Awards have caught the industry’s imagination since that first Awards night was held at the Royal Lancaster hotel in front of 400 people.

Now firmly established as the big industry night out of the year, with comperes of the ilk of Dara O Brien, John Bishop, Rhod Gilbert and Russell Kane, the audience is closer to the 700 mark.

Having reached the tenth anniversary, we decided it was a good opportunity to have a proper look at the categories to ensure that they really reflect the changing face of the industry.

So we have retired some categories and replaced them with some new ones. And we have ‘tweaked’ a couple too so that they are more focused, notably on Building energy. All in all, we think it will give everyone even more opportunity to get their achievements recognised.

The new and changed categories are as follows:

NEW: Data Centre Cooling Impact

In recognition of the huge amount of work going on in the field of data centre cooling, we are giving this specialist sector its own category, so that entries can be judged amongst their peers. The award will go to either a breakthrough item of technology or an impressive project.

NEW Convenience Retail Project

Everyone in the industry knows that the smaller footprint stores are where the main development lies for many retail firms this year. This category has been introduced to recognise that, and to bring into the spotlight the wide variety of independent stores, from grocers to Grab and Go, that are making real strides in the environmental arena.

NEW FOCUS Building Energy Project

A project category focusing specifically on the government’s target area of building energy efficiency – enabling air conditioning, controls and heat pumps companies to enter projects that focus on one or all of the technologies.

NEW FOCUS Air Conditioning/Heat Pump Product

We have introduced a second category for AC specialists, to mirror that of refrigeration. Now there is a chance for suppliers to enter established types of products into this category and their cutting edge technology into the Innovation category.

NEW FOCUS Industrial Project

We have gone back to the past and given companies working in industrial applications a chance to shine in their own sector. This is in recognition of the fact that with the phase out of R22 there are exciting new opportunities arising for factories, hospitals, chemical facilities and the like.

Cooling Awards Categories 2014

The Product Categories

·         Air Conditioning/Heat Pump Innovation of the Year

·         Air Conditioning/Heat Pump Product of the Year NEW

·         Refrigeration Innovation of the Year - System or Standalone

·         Refrigeration Innovation of the Year – Component or Process

·         Refrigeration Product of the Year

The Project Categories

·         Building Energy Project of the Year NEW

·         Retail Project of the Year

·         Industrial Project of the Year

·         Marketing Campaign of the Year,

·         Convenience Retail Project of the Year NEW


·         Environmental Collaboration of the Year

·         The Resource Data Management RAC Contractor of the Year

·         End User of the Year (Non Supermarket)

·         National Retailer of the Year

·         Data Centre Cooling Impact Award NEW


·         Low Carbon Achievement of the Year,

·         International Achievement of the Year

·         Fred Jamieson Award for Industry Achievement


And for those in training:

·         RAC National Student of the Year Award


·         RAC Gold Award

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.